Christmas Lights in China

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

My daughter Jessica was born in September, so by her first Christmas she was old enough for me to carry around and look at Christmas lights.  Her small blue eyes widened at the amazing colors and brightness.  Now she is 22 and lives in California.  I am teaching English in China.  This is my 5th Christmas away from home.  I went out last night to a colorful, cobblestoned street by the river in my Chinese city near Shanghai and was amazed at how the lights lit up like a fairly-land.  I thought, “Jessica could see this.”

There’s so much that we do not see when we don’t take opportunities.  I asked Jessica to come with me to China, but she stayed home.  Maybe she will come for a visit after Christmas.  I would like to show her this street, these fairy lights that also remind me of stars and of Jesus.  He said, “I am the light of the world.”  He was born in a stable on a hillside by a small town in a little country.  Only Mary and Joseph, a few shepherds, and some weary wise men saw Him, under a bright star, surrounded by the temporary visit of angels who announced Good News.  The angels spoke of joy, hope for a dark world, and a never-ending future, like a fairy tale that’s true, for any who would take time to look.

I dedicate this little post to Jessica Ruth Williams and hope she will come here to China where so much waits for exploring.

If you like my photos, check out my books:

http://www.amazon.com/Lonna-Lisa-Williams/e/B006ZISIFU

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

4 comments on “Christmas Lights in China

Leave a Reply

