Angels and Demons

Image

When I was a teenager, I read The Late, Great Planet Earth by Hal Lindsey.  It explained Bible prophecy clearly, and when I put the book down, I believed that I would see prophecy fulfilled.

I’m not the only one who thinks that planet earth is heading into its last days.  With overpopulation, pollution, and climate change brought about by an explosion of technology, nature seems to gasp under the weight of civilization.  Films have been made about Doomsday and the End Times, demons and angels battling on the earth, and the significance of Israel and the Middle East in the final battlefield that will come.

From my viewpoint in Turkey, I see these events close-up and worry about the consequences of another war.  I sit in my small Kocaeli apartment and read the ancient prophecies of Isaiah, Ezekiel, and Daniel.  At night, after listening to the Turkish news report about yet another threat of war, I imagine demons and angels in the corners of my room, small flashes of black or white, spirits roaming the small spaces and wide lands around me, and threats on the horizon–lightning flashing, the moon changing color, stars falling, and Christ coming in the clouds.

Image

How do I face the struggles of my own life as I teach English in this foreign country and miss my children back in California?  I think of the spiritual armor mentioned in the New Testament:  a helmet of salvation, breastplate of righteousness, belt of truth, boots for sharing God’s Good News.  The Shield of Faith can quench the fiery darts of demons.  The only offensive weapon is the Sword of the Spirit, God’s word.  And surrounding me are prayers like incense, wings of a dove.

Image

2 comments on “Angels and Demons

Leave a Reply

