“Best Moment Award”

Image

Journeyaroundtheglobe nominated my Blog for the “Best Moment Award,” and I’d like to thank this adventurous writer and mom who has seen so many places and who cared to follow my own travels.  I’d also like to thank my children Jessica and Jonathan, who are always inspirations for my Special Moments.

I held Jonathan’s hand across a New Zealand suspension bridge above a raging river when he was 8.  The water roared down from glacial mountains, and he looked up at me with eyes the same color as the river.  He squeezed my fingers tight and trusted me.  Now he’s almost 18 and about to graduate from high school.  I haven’t always led him to the safest places, but I think he will never forget our adventures in New Zealand.

I snorkled with Jessica among brightly-colored fish in a Kauai coral reef cove when she was 8.  She jumped out of the aquamarine water and screamed, “There are fish down here!”  I held her trembling shoulders in my arms and promised her safety.  Now she’s 20 and finding her own home in California while I teach English in Turkey.  I miss her and her brother Jonathan and am trying to write my way home to visit them.

The moments we shared will always live in my heart, and I am grateful to my children for walking with me.  I am also grateful to my Blog readers who care to read about my adventures, and to the Creator who imagined such transitory beauty in far-off places–and in a child’s eyes at home.

You can read more about my adventures in my book “Fire and Ice.”

More about the “Best Moment Award”

Awarding the people who live in the moment,
The noble who write and capture the best in life,
The bold who reminded us what really mattered –
Savoring the experience of quality time.

RULES:

Winners re-post this completely with their acceptance speech. This could be written or video recorded.

Winners have the privilege of awarding the next awardees! The re-post should include a NEW set of people/blogs worthy of the award; and winners notify them the great news.

RESOURCES:
◾What makes a good acceptance speech? ◾Gratitude. Thank the people who helped you along the way
◾Humor. Keep us entertained and smiling
◾Inspiration. Make your story touch our lives

◾Get an idea from the great acceptance speeches, compiled in MomentMatters.com/Speech
◾Display the award’s badge on your blog/website, downloadable in MomentMatters.com/Award

MY NOMINEES:

1.  http://blog.kenkaminesky.com   (Note:  I just love his photos and adventurous spirit)

2.  http://thepowerofpixiedust.wordpress.com   (Note:  I love her writing style, photos, and tasty Turkish recipes)

3.  imissmetoo.me/   (Note:  Pat inspires me with her strength and humor)

2 comments on ““Best Moment Award”

Leave a Reply

