“Woman on a Cliff” (poem)

“Woman on a Cliff”

I am a woman standing on a cliff.

Wind rises from below,

from the dark and far crevasse.

Upon my face and hair it sings

blowing out my scarf like wings.

I cannot see the bottom of the cliff.

Rocks and slopes and trees

reach down in shades of gray and green.

And if they form a bridge

they stay unseen.

But I’m not frightened now

to stand here at this dizzy height.

I look up to the Summit where

the clouds half cover crystal peaks

and sunrise turns the snow to light.

I am a woman standing on a cliff.

At any time my feet could slip

and pull me fast

upon the razor tip.

But, oh, the view!

The view is worth the coldest risk.

***************************************

A poem I wrote after surviving non-hodgkins lymphoma, stage 4, when my son was just a baby.  He is now 17.

From “I Saw You in the Moon” (Survival Stories, Book 2):

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B007UJ6EH2

Image,

Leave a Reply

